THE PLAN Award 2023: The winners announced
  1. Home
  2. What's On
  3. THE PLAN Award 2023: The winners announced

THE PLAN Award 2023: The winners announced

The awards ceremony took place on the evening of Thursday, November 9, at Auditorium Monte Rosa 91 in Milan

THE PLAN Award 2023: The winners announced
By Redazione The Plan -

THE PLAN Award 2023 awards ceremony, held in partnership with Monterosa 91, took place on the evening of Thursday, November 9, at Auditorium Monte Rosa 91 in Milan. The ninth edition of this international award for excellence in architecture, interior design, and urban planning saw over 1300 projects submitted from around the world. The international jury selected over 600 of these projects before arriving at the shortlist of finalists.

At the awards ceremony, the culmination of THE PLAN Award 2023, this year’s winning projects were announced in each of the award’s 20 categories. Each category included two winners: one for the Completed section and one for the Future section, for projects that will soon be built. On the same occasion, 34 honorable mentions were awarded to deserving projects.

The overall winner was the Arkansas Museum of Fine Arts designed by Studio Gang. The winner of the Community Wish List Special Prize, awarded by the public, is the Amazon Bus Station in Belém, Brazil, designed by Fernando Andrade & Associates.

Discover all the winners and honorable mentions


The international jury of THE PLAN Award

The international jury of THE PLAN Award is made up of professionals and academics from the world of architecture and design: Stella Betts, founding partner of New York City-based international firm LEVENBETTS; Sebastián Irarrázaval, professor at the Pontificia Universidad Católica de Chile and director of Sebastián Irarrázaval Arquitectos; Jing Liu, founding partner of SO – IL and adjunct associate professor at Columbia GSapp; John McAslan, executive chairman of John McAslan + Partners; Karen McEvoy, director of Bucholz McEvoy Architects; Taraneh Meshkani, assistant professor of architecture and urban planning at Kent State University and senior editor of The Plan Journal; Valerio Paolo Mosco, architect and architecture critic; Jason Pugh, director and chief executive officer of diversity, equity, and inclusion at Gensler; Raymund Ryan, curator of the Heinz Architectural Center at the Carnegie Museum of Art; Yehuda Safran, adjunct professor at the Pratt Institute School of Architecture; Abeer Seikaly, founder of the studio of the same name; Michael Webb, architecture and design critic and author; Li Xiangning, dean and professor of Tongji University’s College of Architecture and Urban planning; Zhang Xiaochun, professor at the College of Architecture and Urban planning of Tongji University, and deputy director of Heritage Architecture; and Nicola Leonardi, director and founder of THE PLAN, director Bu editore | privati e aziende Gruppo Maggioli.


The awards ceremony

Before the winners and special mentions were announced, Nicola Leonardi, director and co-founder of THE PLAN, and Francesco Rovere, senior development manager of AXA IM Alts, welcomed guests and thanked them for their participation. Karen McEvoy and Sebastián Irarrázaval, members of THE PLAN Award jury, also spoke by video link.

“The first edition of THE PLAN Award, which was created to promote excellence in architecture, took place here in Milan in 2015, the year of the Expo. I’m therefore very happy to be back here today for the final evening of the ninth edition of the award.
Tonight, we find ourselves in a very special place. Auditorium Monte Rosa 91was designed 20 years ago by Renzo Piano’s studio RPWB and was featured in the seventh issue of THE PLAN, including on the cover. This month also saw the release of the 150th issue of THE PLAN, so we have a second important milestone to celebrate today, almost 25 years after our magazine was founded.
Recently, Monte Rosa 91 underwent a major renovation, which the owners entrusted again to Renzo Piano. I would like to thank architect Francesco Rovere, representing AXA Investment Managers, for his firm’s collaboration in organizing this evening at Auditorium Monte Rosa 91”.

Nicola Leonardi, director and co-founder of THE PLAN


Photography by Simone Scaravelli

Keep up with the latest trends in the architecture and design world

© Maggioli SpA • THE PLAN • Via del Pratello 8 • 40122 Bologna, Italy • T +39 051 227634 • P. IVA 02066400405 • ISSN 2499-6602 • E-ISSN 2385-2054