Farrell and McNamara awarded the Pritzker Prize | THE PLAN
  1. Home
  2. What's On
  3. Yvonne Farrell and Shelley McNamara awarded the 2020 Pritzker Architecture Prize

Yvonne Farrell and Shelley McNamara awarded the 2020 Pritzker Architecture Prize

Farrell and McNamara awarded the Pritzker Prize | THE PLAN
By -

Yvonne Farrell and Shelley McNamara of Dublin, Ireland, have been selected as the 2020 Pritzker Prize Laureates. Tom Pritzker, Chairman of The Hyatt Foundation, which sponsors the award: “Architecture could be described as one of the most complex and important cultural activities on the planet,” remarks Farrell. “To be an architect is an enormous privilege. To win this prize is a wonderful endorsement of our belief in architecture. Thank you for this great honor”
The Jury composed by Stephen Breyer (Chair), André Aranha Corrêa do Lago, Barry Bergdoll, Deborah Berke, Sejima Kazuyo, Benedetta Tagliabue, Wang Shu, Martha Thorne (Executive Director), say that as architects and educators since the 1970s, Farrell and McNamara create spaces that are at once respectful and new, honoring history while demonstrating a mastery of the urban environment and craft of construction. Balancing strength and delicacy, and upholding a reverence of site-specific contexts, their academic, civic and cultural institutions, as well as housing developments, result in modern and impactful works that never repeat or imitate, but are decidedly of their own architectural voice. For their integrity in their approach to both their buildings, as well as the way they conduct their practice, their belief in collaboration, their generosity towards their colleagues, especially as evidenced in such events as the 2018 Venice Biennale, their unceasing commitment to excellence in architecture, their responsible attitude toward the environment, their ability to be cosmopolitan while embracing the uniqueness of each place in which they work, for all these reasons and more, Yvonne Farrell and Shelley McNamara are awarded the 2020 Pritzker Architecture Prize. Selected works: Urban Institute of Ireland (Dublin, Ireland 2002), Loreto Community School (Milford, Ireland 2006), Università Luigi Bocconi (Milano, Italy 2008), Offices for the Department of Finance (Dublin, Ireland 2009), Medical School, University of Limerick (Limerick, Ireland 2012), University Campus UTEC Lima (Lima, Peru 2015), Université Toulouse 1 Capitole, School of Economics (Toulouse, France 2019), Institut Mines Télécom (Paris, France 2019), Town House Building, Kingston University (Kingston, United Kingdom 2019), Parnell Square Cultural Quarter, City Library (Dublin, Ireland, under construction) London School of Economics and Political Science (London, United Kingdom, under construction).

Photo: © Alice Clancy, courtesy ot the author

Keep up with the latest trends in the architecture and design world

© Maggioli SpA • THE PLAN • Via del Pratello 8 • 40122 Bologna, Italy • T +39 051 227634 • P. IVA 02066400405 • ISSN 2499-6602 • E-ISSN 2385-2054