The 30th episode of "The Architects Series" dedicated to AHMM
  1. Home
  2. What's On
  3. The 30th episode of "The Architects Series" dedicated to AHMM

The 30th episode of "The Architects Series" dedicated to AHMM

The web event curated by THE PLAN for the Iris Ceramica Group reaches a milestone 30th episode. The documentary will premiere at the ICG Gallery London at 7:00 p.m. on Thursday, June 15, to be followed by a lecture by Simon Allford, studio cofounder

The 30th episode of "The Architects Series" dedicated to AHMM
By Editorial Staff -
Iris Ceramica Group has participated in the project

The Architects Series, the web event curated by THE PLAN for Iris Ceramica Group, has reached its 30th episode, which will be dedicated to the studio AHMM (Allford Hall Monaghan Morris). The documentary will premiere at 7:00 p.m. on Thursday, June 15, live from the ICG Gallery London. It will be followed by a lecture entitled “Constructing the Idea – Architecture in the Low Carbon Future”, presented by Simon Allford, Executive Director and Head of Design Studio.

Register - in-person event

 

Extraordinary buildings for everyday life

Simon Allford, Jonathan Hall, Paul Monaghan, and Peter Morris first met in the classrooms of The Bartlett School of Architecture in London. After completing the same university course together, in 1989 the four architects founded their own studio, AHMM, as an alliance based on a commitment to “economically efficient and elegant design” and with the prime objective of “designing extraordinary buildings for everyday life” that can adapt to different uses over time.

Today, AHMM has 500 employees and, besides its central office in London, has offices in Bristol, Madrid, and Oklahoma City. The studio, which won the RIBA Stirling Prize for the Burntwood School in Wandsworth in 2015, is known in particular for its redevelopment projects in historical places in the English capital, such as the Television Centre, the Barbican Arts Centre, and New Scotland Yard, as well as its projects in the commercial, residential, and educational sectors across the UK, Europe, India, and the Americas.

Some of its most notable projects are Soho Place, a “huge urban puzzle” comprising office space, a theater, and a new public area on one of London’s busiest streets; Tower Hamlets Town Hall, involving the restoration and extension of the former Royal London Hospital building; and the Lansdowne House shopping center in Mayfair, which is targeting BREEAM Outstanding and LEED Platinum certifications, with completion expected for 2026. Among its projects outside the UK, the University of Amsterdam is a highlight, involving the large-scale reinvention of a post-war university building. It won the RIBA Award for International Excellence in 2018.

 

"The Architects Series – A documentary on: AHMM" – program

7 pm (CEST) / 6 pm (UK BST) / 1 pm (US EDT)
Welcome and screening of the documentary
“The Architects Series – A documentary on: AHMM”

7:30 pm (CEST) / 6:30 pm (UK BST) / 1:30 pm (US EDT)
Lecture entitled “Constructing the Idea – Architecture in the Low Carbon Future”
with Simon Allford, Executive Director and Head of Design Studio

The course has been submitted for approval by AIA CES (USA) and RIBA CPD (UK) for continuing education credits.

The event will be streamed live.

Register - Online event

 

>>> Rewatch every episode of The Architects Series

All images courtesy of AHMM

Keep up with the latest trends in the architecture and design world

© Maggioli SpA • THE PLAN • Via del Pratello 8 • 40122 Bologna, Italy • T +39 051 227634 • P. IVA 02066400405 • ISSN 2499-6602 • E-ISSN 2385-2054
ITC Avant Garde Gothic® is a trademark of Monotype ITC Inc. registered in the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office and which may be registered in certain other jurisdictions.