2011 AZ Awards winners
  1. Home
  2. What's On
  3. 2011 AZ Awards winners

2011 AZ Awards winners

2011 AZ Awards winners
By Redazione The Plan -

These awards are the first of their kind: the only international, multi-disciplinary design competition in Canada. Representing a global snapshot of the world of design, submissions were open to designers, architects and firms of all disciplines, as well as students in these fields. To be eligible, designs and concepts had to be realized by 2010.
The international jury included landscape architect Claude Cormier of Claude Cormier Landscape Architects (Montreal), architect Craig Dykers of Snøhetta (Oslo/New York), designer and consultant Patty Johnson of Patty Johnson Design (Toronto), architect and product designer Eero Koivisto of Claesson Koivisto Rune (Stockholm) and interior designer Glenn Pushelberg of Yabu Pushelberg (Toronto/New York).
In March, the expert panel conferred at Toronto’s Hotel Le Germain, narrowing the field from an impressive 600 entries arriving from 25 countries to a shortlist of 52 finalists. From there, they selected the 14 winners, with the recipient of the Student A+ Award receiving a prize of $2,500.
During the month of April, the public was also given the chance to vote online for their favourite designs in the People’s Choice Awards.

(*Indicates both jury-selected and People’s Choice Winner)
Furniture Design: Ply Shelves, by Matter Design and CW Keller (USA)*
Furniture Systems Design: Invitrium Recyclable Kitchen, by Valcucine (Italy)*
Lighting Design: Softlight, by Molo (Canada) People’s Choice: Canopy, by United Visual Artists (UK)
Interior Product Design: SensoWash Starck, by Duravit (Germany)*
Residential Architecture: Linear House, by Patkau Architects (Canada) - People’s Choice: 60 Richmond East, by Teeple Architects (Canada)
Commercial and Institutional Architecture: Long Studio, by Saunders Arkitektur (Norway)*
Landscape Architecture: Ballast Point Park, by McGregor Coxall (Australia) - People’s Choice: Trinity College Quadrangle, by gh3 (Canada)
Temporary and Demonstration Architecture: Dunhill Campaign, by Campaign (UK) - People’s Choice: Ontario Pavilion, by Hariri Pontarini Architects (Canada)
Residential Interiors: Strelein Warehouse, by Ian Moore Architects (Australia) - People’s Choice: Crosstown Loft, by Campos Leckie Studio (Canada)
Commercial and Institutional Interiors: Scandinave Les Bains, by Saucier + Perrotte Architectes (Canada) - People’s Choice: DRU Cultural Factory, by M&R
Interior Architecture (The Netherlands)
Unbuilt Concepts: Musée National des Beaux-Arts, by Saucier + Perrotte Architectes (Canada) - People’s Choice: Openair, by Jet Architecture, CXT Architects and Archasia Design Group (Canada/China)
Other Unrealized Concepts: Metropolitan Vertical Amusement Park, by Ju-Hyun Kim (USA)*
Student Work: Temporary Mosque, by Alex Josephson, University of Waterloo (Canada) - People’s Choice: Visions of Settlement, by Katherine Kovalik, University of Waterloo (Canada)
For the Jury Award: Hydroelectric Lamp, by Hierve (UK) - People’s Choice: OMS Stage, by 5468796 Architecture (Canada)


Keep up with the latest trends in the architecture and design world

© Maggioli SpA • THE PLAN • Via del Pratello 8 • 40122 Bologna, Italy • T +39 051 227634 • P. IVA 02066400405 • ISSN 2499-6602 • E-ISSN 2385-2054