The Plan Award Jury
  1. Home
  2. Jury Members

Jury Members

Results: 6

3XN | The Plan


Jury member: Kim Herforth Nielsen, Founder, Senior Partner and Creative Director

Danish architectural firm 3XN offers more than three decades of experience in designing and building innovative and human-focused architecture. Since its founding in 1986, the firm has become known for creating buildings of substance supported by a strong theoretical foundation. The abiding philosophy that architecture shapes behaviour guides all 3XN’s work, from award-winning corporate headquarters and residential buildings to cultural destinations and mixed-use urban districts. Notable past projects include the International Olympic Committee’s headquarters in Lausanne (Switzerland); the cube (Berlin) and the new Sydney Fish Market (Australia).

Read More
# 2022 
Atelier(s) Alfonso Femia | The Plan

Atelier(s) Alfonso Femia

Jury member: Simonetta Cenci, Partner and Deputy Managing Director

Atelier(s) Alfonso Femia (AF517), formerly 5+1AA, was founded by Alfonso Femia and fellow travelers. Since 1995, they have explored the world and human relationships through architecture, dialogue and matter. Listening and searching are posited on the idea that the project is a medium for communication, prompting the creation of spaces and architecture that are part of “chronotopic” cities. The practice focuses on urban regeneration and major new-build projects in key Italian and Mediterranean cities. Atelier(s) Alfonso Femia (AF517) stays in touch with the construction world through constant collaboration with a range of companies in various sectors but also with the craft sector, confirming the importance of close exchange between all project players. 

Read More
# 2022 
Behnisch Architekten | The Plan

Behnisch Architekten

Jury member: Stefan Behnisch, Partner

Behnisch Architekten was founded in 1989 and works out of four offices – Stuttgart, Munich, Boston and Los Angeles. The firm enjoys a global reputation for high-quality architecture that integrates environmental responsibility, creativity, and public purpose. From the beginning, Behnisch has prioritized the social dimension of architecture and the quality of the urban environment. In over 30 years, the firm has created a diverse portfolio of projects mainly in Europe and North America that demonstrate new ways for occupants to inhabit their surroundings.

Read More
# 2022 
FX Collaborative | The Plan

FX Collaborative

Jury member: Gustavo Rodriguez, Partner

We believe in the power of intelligence, intuition, and interconnection to design a better world. We build places that resonate and endure, design with deep respect for our Planet’s resources, celebrate our clients’ unique cultures, and embrace diversity and promote social responsibility. Founded in 1978 and led by 14 Partners, the firm’s work ranges from the scale of individual buildings and interiors, office towers, multi-family residences, cultural facilities, workplace, K-12 and higher education institutions as well as the city as a whole, addressing infrastructure and transportation.

Read More
# 2022 
GCA Architects | The Plan

GCA Architects

Jury member: Andrea Navarro, Partner

Josep Juanpere and Antonio Puig founded the GCA Architects practice in 1986. Jesús Hernando, Josep Riu, Jordi Castañé, Francisco de Paz, Andrea Navarro and Juan Riveiro subsequently joined as partners. The company boasts a multidisciplinary team of more than 90 professionals specialized in architecture and interior design, from architects to building engineers, interior designers, consultants, project managers, and communications specialists. Covering every stage of the design process, this multi-talented group leverages the senior partners’ experience and the freshness and innovation of its younger generation employees.

Read More
# 2022 
Grimshaw | The Plan


Jury member: Andrew Whalley, Chairman and Partner

Grimshaw was founded by Sir Nicholas Grimshaw in 1980. The practice became a partnership in 2007 and operates worldwide with offices in Los Angeles, New York, London, Paris, Dubai, Melbourne, and Sydney, employing over 500 collaborators. The company’s work is characterized by strong conceptual legibility, innovation, and a rigorous approach to detailing, all underpinned by the principles of humane, enduring, and sustainable design. The practice is dedicated to the deepest level of involvement in the design of its buildings to deliver projects that meet the highest possible standards of excellence.

Andrew Whalley, Grimshaw partner and Chairman has worked in the practice since 1986. He has been involved with academia throughout his career at the Royal College of Art Industrial Design Department, The Bartlett, UCL and the Architectural Association. But also at the Washington University and Politecnico di Milano. Andrew succeeded Sir Nicholas Grimshaw as Chairman in June 2019.

Read More
# 2022 

© Maggioli SpA • THE PLAN • Via del Pratello 8 • 40122 Bologna, Italy • T +39 051 227634 • P. IVA 02066400405 • ISSN 2499-6602 • E-ISSN 2385-2054