The Plan - Search Engine for Architecture
  1. Home
  2. The Plan Award Jury

The Plan Award Jury

Winka Dubbeldam | The Plan
Winka Dubbeldam
Founder of Archi-Tectonics, Miller Professor and Chair of Architecture at Stuart Weitzman School of Design

Winka Dubbeldam is founder of Archi-Tectonics. She serves as Miller Professor and chair of the Department of Architecture at the Stuart Weitzman School of Design at University of Pennsylvania in Philadelphia. Winka has also previously taught at Columbia University, Harvard University and Cornell University. The work of Winka and Archi-Tectonics has been featured in countless publications including a number of monographs.

Margherita Guccione | The Plan
Margherita Guccione
Director at MAXXI Architettura

Architect Margherita Guccione is director of MAXXI’s Museum of Modern and Contemporary Architecture and supervisor for the design and realization of the building. Since the opening of MAXXI Architettura, she has been curating its program of exhibitions, cultural activities and events. She has undertaken intensive institutional and research activities regarding the conservation and valorization of the ancient and contemporary and architectural heritage and is author of papers and articles on 20th Century architecture and the relationship between contemporaneity and conservation.

Valerio Paolo Mosco | The Plan
Valerio Paolo Mosco
Architecture Critic

Valerio Paolo Mosco received his PhD from the same University in 1998, with a thesis on iconology in contemporary architecture. Subsequently he worked as a contractor professor at IUAV, University of Venice, where he became researcher and later qualified as associate professor. He taught as a visiting professor in I.I.T. and held courses at the University of Brescia; University of Ferrara and at Polytechnic of Milan and History of Architecture at IED in Rome. Nowadays he teaches at IUAV  and at the University of Navarra in Pamplona in Spain. In addition to being a writer and journalist, he won three international design competitions and was awarded with different mentions. He is director of the magazine Viceversa.

Raymund Ryan | The Plan
Raymund Ryan
Curator at the Heinz Architectural Center - Carnegie Museum of Art

Raymund Ryan, originally from Ireland, is an architect and writer, who looks at the city as both an insider and outsider, bringing the international design scene into regional dialogue.

Maurizio Sabini | The Plan
Maurizio Sabini
Professor of Architecture at Drury University

Maurizio Sabini received his professional degree in architecture in 1981 from the Istituto Universitario di Architettura of Venice and a post-professional Master of Architecture degree in 1982. He is currently a professor at Hammons School of Architecture, Dury University.

Yehuda Safran | The Plan
Yehuda Safran
Adjunct Professor at the School of Architecture of Pratt Institute

Yehuda Emmanuel Safran is an internationally renowned critic of art and architecture. He has taught at the Architectural Association, Goldsmith’s College of Art, the Royal College of Art, the Jan van Eyck Academie, Harvard University Graduate School Of Design, and the Graduate School of Architecture, Planning and Preservation of the Columbia University. His essays are published in numerous international sector magazines and journals.

Benedetta Tagliabue | The Plan
Benedetta Tagliabue
Co-founder and CEO of Miralles Tagliabue EMBT

Benedetta Tagliabue studied architecture at the Istituto di Architettura di Venezia (IUAV) and currently acts as director of the international architecture firm Miralles Tagliabue EMBT, founded in collaboration with Enric Miralles in Barcelona in 1994 and, since 2010, in Shanghai. Her studio works in the fields of architecture, design of public spaces, rehabilitation, interior and industrial design.

Martha Thorne | The Plan
Martha Thorne
Dean of IE School of Architecture & Design, Executive Director of the Pritzker Prize

Martha Thorne is Dean of IE School of Architecture and Design in Madrid, Spain. Since 2005, she serves also as Executive Director of the Pritzker Architecture Prize. Her interests reside in the future of cities and the transformation of architecture and design education for the major challenges of the 21st Century. She is author of books related to architecture of the 20th Century and articles for architectural journals and encyclopedias. She has served on juries and often participates in symposia. Thorne holds a Master of City Planning from the University of Pennsylvania, and she undertook additional studies at the London School of Economics.

Michael Webb | The Plan
Michael Webb
Architectural writer

Michael Webb Hon. AIA/LA has authored 25 books on architecture and design, most recently Architects' Houses, Building Community: New Apartment Architecture, and a memoir, Moving Around: A Lifetime of Wandering, while editing and contributing essays to a score of monographs. He is also a regular contributor to leading journals in the United States, Asia and Europe. Growing up in London, he was an editor at The Times and Country Life, before moving to the U.S., where he directed film programs for the American Film Institute through the 1970s and curated a Smithsonian exhibition on the history of the American cinema.

Li Xiangning | The Plan
Li Xiangning
Full Professor and Assistant Dean at the College of Architecture and Urban Planning of Tongji University

Li Xiangning, deputy dean and professor of history, theory and criticism at Tongji University College of Architecture and Urban Planning. Li Xiangning has lectured widely on contemporary Chinese architecture and urbanism and published on these topics in international architecture journals. He has been a visiting scholar at MIT, a fellow at MAK Center of Art and Architecture in Los Angeles, and a visiting professor at TU Darmstadt; and he has curated the Chengdu and Shenzhen Biennale exhibitions, among various distinctions.


© Maggioli SpA • THE PLAN • Via del Pratello 8 • 40122 Bologna, Italy • T +39 051 227634 • P. IVA 02066400405 • ISSN 2499-6602 • E-ISSN 2385-2054